Putting Scotland's Health on the Web


NHSScotland consists of 14 regional NHS Boards which are responsible for the protection and the improvement of their population’s health and for the delivery of frontline healthcare services and 7 Special NHS Boards and 1 public health body who support the regional NHS Boards by providing a range of important specialist and national services.

NHS Scotland Health Boards

NHS Ayrshire & Arran

NHS Borders

NHS Dumfries & Galloway

NHS Fife

NHS Forth Valley

NHS Grampian

NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

NHS Highland

NHS Lanarkshire

NHS Lothian

NHS Orkney

NHS Shetland

NHS Tayside

NHS Western Isles

NHS Special NHS Boards

NHS Education for Scotland
Quality Education for a Healthier Scotland.

NHS Health Scotland
Promoting ways to improve the health of the population and reduce health inequalities.

NHS National Waiting Times Centre
Ensuring prompt access to first-class treatment.

Providing health advice and information.

Scottish Ambulance Service
Responding to almost 600,000 accident and emergency calls and taking 1.6 million patients to and from hospital each year.

The State Hospitals Board for Scotland
Providing assessment, treatment and care in conditions of special security for individuals with a mental disorder whom because of their dangerous, violent or criminal propensities, cannot be cared for in any other setting.

NHS National Services Scotland
Supplying essential services including health protection, blood transfusion and information

Public Health Body

Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Delivering high quality, evidence-based, safe, effective and person-centred care, and scrutinising services to provide public assurance about the quality and safety of healthcare.


Can't find what you're looking for?
Try the A-Z index of show sites.


Just looking for contact details?
Use the NHS directory* if you work within NHSScotland.